Monday, January 23, 2023

Black Ferns Win Hamilton Seven's

The Black Fern seven's side has beaten the USA 33-7 to take out the Hamilton round of the World Series Seven's. In what has been revealed to be the final New Zealand round for the near future, the Black Ferns went through unbeaten in pool play, accounting for Papua New Guinea 58-0, Fiji 27-0, and Great Britain 20-0. In the quarter finals they beat Japan 43-12, and Ireland 32-0 in the semi final.

The men's side were narrowly defeated by Argentina 14-12 in the final, after Brady Rush was ruled to have knocked the ball on when chasing a grubber kick into goal in the final seconds of the match. They has beaten Tonga 45-0, Australia 21-19, and Great Britain 19-12 in pool play on Saturday, and then accounted for Ireland 10-5 in their quarter final, and France 38-0 in the semi final.

Thursday, December 8, 2022

New Zealand Rugby Awards

2022 New Zealand Rugby Awards:

New Zealand Rugby Referee of the Year - Ben O'Keeffe (Auckland)
Volunteer of the Year - Cathy Charles (Otago) 
New Zealand Rugby Age Grade Player of the Year - Peter Lakai (Wellington)
Ian Kirkpatrick Medal - Sam Parkes (Ngāti Porou East Coast)

Duane Monkley Medal - Bryn Gatland (North Harbour)

Fiao'o Faamausili Medal - Maia Joseph (Otago)  

National Men's Coach of the Year - Scott Robertson (Crusaders) 

National Women's Coach of the Year - Blair Baxter (Canterbury)                                          

Super Rugby Pacific Player of the Year - Will Jordan (Crusaders)

Super Rugby Aupiki Player of the Year - Luka Connor (Chiefs Manawa)

Try of the Year - Stacey Fluhler (Black Ferns v England) 

Tom French Memorial Māori Player of the Year - Ruahei Demant (Tē Whānau ā Apanui / Te Whakatōhea / Ngāti Awa)  

Richard Crawshaw Memorial All Blacks Sevens Player of the Year - Ngarohi McGarvey-Black

Black Ferns Sevens Player of the Year - Michaela Blyde

Black Ferns Player of the Year - Ruahei Demant

All Blacks Player of the Year - Ardie Savea

National Men's Team of the Year - Wellington

National Women's Team of the Year - Canterbury

Outstanding Contribution to New Zealand Rugby: Dr Deb Robinson

New Zealand Coach of the Year: Wayne Smith (Black Ferns)

New Zealand Team of the Year: Black Ferns

Kelvin R Tremain Memorial Player of the Year: Ruahei Demant

Sunday, November 20, 2022

All Blacks Draw With England

The All Blacks have drawn their final test of the year 25-25 with England, after conceding three tries in the final ten minutes. The All Blacks started the game well and had scored two tries in the opening ten minutes, with a Dalton Papali'i intercept try, and hooker Codie Taylor going over off a rolling mall. The All Blacks had a further try disallowed with off the ball play in a ruck, and went to half time with a 17-3 lead. England kicked an early second half penalty, but the All Blacks struck back with an 80 metre try to centre Reiko Ioane. A dropped goal to fullback Beauden Barrett put the All Blacks into a 25-6 lead, but it was the reply from England that swung the match. Barrett had failed to release in the tackle of England first five Marcus Smith, and with the penalty advantage, replacement Will Stuart scored. Barrett was sin-binned for 10 minutes, and from the kick off England ran the ball wide with fullback Freddie Steward scoring. With mere minutes remaining in the match the All Blacks had the ball under control, but a kick from replacement half back TJ Perenara gave possession back to England who again attacked out wide, with Stuart scoring his second. Perenara had to leave the field in the fianl minute of the match, and it has since been revealed he has ruptured his achilles tendon, leaving a nine month recovery span ahead of next years Rugby World Cup.

New Zealand All Blacks: 25

Tries: Dalton Papali'i, Codie Taylor, Rieko Ioane, Conversions: Jordie Barrett 2, Penalty: Jordie Barrett, Dropped Goal: Beauden Barrett

England: 25

Tries: Will Stuart 2, Freddie Steward, Conversions: Marcus Smith 2, Penalties: Smith, Owen Farrell

Thursday, November 17, 2022

All Blacks Named To Face England

All Black coach Ian Foster has named his side for the final match of the year against England on Sunday morning, 6.30am. Brodie Retallick returns to the side at lock after serving a two match suspension following the Japan test, and it will be his 100th test. Foster has also named a strong combination in the loose forwards, with Ardie Savea at number eight, Dalton Papali’i at openside flanker and Scott Barrett at blindside. In the backs Mark Talea gets his second start on the wing after a strong game against Scotland, Rieko Ioane and Jordie Barrett are paired in midfield, and Beauden Barrett will start at fullback.

All Blacks: 

Beauden Barrett, Mark Telea, Rieko Ioane, Jordie Barrett, Caleb Clarke, Richie Mo’unga, Aaron Smith; Ardie Savea, Dalton Papali’i, Scott Barrett, Sam Whitelock (c), ​​​​​​​Brodie Retallick, Tyrel Lomax, ​​​​​​​Codie Taylor, ​​​​​​​Ethan De Groot. 


Samisoni Taukei’aho, George Bower, Nepo Laulala, Shannon Frizell, Hoskins Sotutu, TJ Perenara, David Havili, Anton Lienert-Brown.

Sunday, November 13, 2022

All Blacks Win Against Scotland

The All Blacks have scored two late tries to secure a 31-23 win against Scotland this morning. After leading 14-0 early in the match after tries to prop Samisoni Taukei'aho and winger Mark Telea, the All Blacks lost Anton Lienert-Brown to a yellow card after he tackled Stuart Hogg in goal as he chased a kick through. The penalty try plus a second to winger Darcy Graham saw Scotland lead a halftime 17-14, and they scored 23 unanswered points before the All Blacks struck back. A sin-bin to loose forward Jack Demspey in the 65th minute preceded a try to lock Scott Barrett, with the second for Mark Talea in the 75th minute securing the match.

All Blacks: 31 

Tries: Samisoni Taukei'aho, Mark Telea 2, Scott Barrett, Conversions: Jordie Barrett 4, Penalty: Jordie Barrett

Scotland: 23 

Tries: Darcy Graham, Penalty Try, Conversion: Finn Russell, Penalties: Russell 3

Saturday, November 12, 2022

All Blacks Named To Face Scotland

All Blacks coach Ian Foster has named his side to face to face Scotland at Murrayfield on Monday 3.15am NZT. There is one new cap in the side, with Mark Telea named on the wing.

New Zealand All Blacks v Scotland

1. Ethan de Groot, 2. Samisoni Taukei’aho, 3. Nepo Laulala, 4. Samuel Whitelock (c), 5. Scott Barrett, 6. Akira Ioane, 7. Dalton Papali’i, 8. Ardie Savea, 9. Finlay Christie, 10. Beauden Barrett, 11. Caleb Clarke, 12. David Havili, 13. Anton Lienert-Brown, 14. Mark Telea, 15. Jordie Barrett


16. Codie Taylor, 17. George Bower, 18. Fletcher Newell, 19. Tupou Vaa’i, 20. Shannon Frizell, 21. TJ Perenara, 22. Stephen Perofeta, 23. Rieko Ioane

Black Ferns Win Rugby World Cup

The New Zealand Black Ferns have beaten England 34-31 to win their sixth Rugby World Cup in Auckland on Saturday night. The Black Ferns scored six tries to five, but trailed for much of the match, having to come back from two tries down in the early part of the match. England had played three quarters of the match with only 14 after winger Lydia Thompson was red carded after a head clash with Portia Woodman in a tackle, that also saw Woodman leave the field. The Black Ferns had struggled to combat the England rolling mall, with four of their five tries coming from it, but had stayed in touch for most of the match. The Black Ferns had hit the front with nine minutes remaining with a try to Ayesha Leti-I'iga, but were forced to defend the final minute of the match with a lineout near their own line, with Joanah Ngan-Woo’s lineout steal sealing the game.

New Zeland Black Ferns: 34 

Tries: Ayesha Leti-l'iga 2, Georgia Ponsonby, Amy Rule, Stacey Fluhler, Krystal Murray, Conversions: Renee Holmes 2

England: 31 

Tries: Amy Cokayne 3, Ellie Kildunne, Marlie Packer, Conversions: Emily Scarratt 3