Showing posts with label all blacks rugby. Show all posts
Showing posts with label all blacks rugby. Show all posts

Sunday, September 8, 2019

All Blacks Defeat Tonga In Final Test Before World Cup

The New Zealand All Blacks have beaten Tonga 92-7 in their final match before the 2019 Rugby World Cup.
Winger Sevu Reece scored the opening try in the 9th minute, and was followed by Ben Smith in the 16th minute. Tries were then scored rapidly by hooker Cody Taylor, winger George Bridge, captain Keiran Read, halfback TJ Perenara, a second for Smith, and Ryan Crotty to give the All Blacks a 54-0 halftime lead.
The tries kept coming in the second half, with Bridge securing the ball from the kick-off and scoring after 8 seconds.
Further tries came from Matt Todd, Ardie Savea, a third from Bridge, then a fourth from Bridge to make it 85-0 after 58 minutes. Ryan Crotty scored his second in the 65th minutes, before exiting the field for the bench, with coach Steve Hansen choosing to make the All Blacks play the remainder of the game with 14 men.
Tonga scored a consolation try Siale Piutau with three minutes remaining, and the conversion was kicked by Viliame Lolohea.

The All Blacks open their world cup with their first match against South Africa on Saturday 21st September at Yokohama Stadium, Yokohama.
The All Blacks remaining pool matches are against Canada on Wednesday 2nd October at Oita Stadium, Namibia on Sunday 6th October at Tokyo Stadium, and Italy on Saturday 12 October at Tokyo Stadium.

New Zealand All Blacks: 92 

Tries: Sevu Reece, Ben Smith 2, Codie Taylor, George Bridge 4, Kieran Read, TJ Perenara, Ryan Crotty 2, Matt Todd, Ardie Savea

Conversions: Beauden Barrett 7, Josh Ioane 4.

Tonga: 7 

Try: Siale Piutau

Conversion: Viliame Lolohea

Thursday, September 5, 2019

All Blacks Named For Match Versus Tonga.

The All Blacks team to play Tonga on Saturday September 7th at 2.35pm, at FMG Stadium in Hamilton is as follows.

1. Joe Moody
2. Codie Taylor
3. Nepo Laulala
4. Patrick Tuipulotu
5. Samuel Whitelock
6. Ardie Savea
7. Matt Todd
8. Kieran Read - captain
9. TJ Perenara
10. Beauden Barrett
11. George Bridge
12. Ryan Crotty
13. Anton Lienert-Brown
14. Sevu Reece
15. Ben Smith
16. Liam Coltman
17. Ofa Tuungafasi
18. Angus Ta'avao
19. Scott Barrett
20. Luke Jacobson
21. Aaron Smith
22. Josh Ioane
23. Jordie Barrett

The team features the return of Beauden Barrett back at first five in place of Richie Mo’unga who was injured in the draw against South Africa, and Ben Smith, who shifts from wing into fullback.
Also not consider through injury were Jack Goodhue, Sonny Bill Williams, Sam Cane and Rieko Ioane.

The Tongan team is as follows:

David Halaifonua, Cooper Vuna, Malietoa Hingano, Siale Piutau (c), Viliami Lolohea, Kurt Morath, Sonatane Takulua, Maama Vaipulu, Fotu Lokotui, Sione Kalamafoni, Leva Fifita, Sam Lousi, Siua Halanukonuka, Siua Maile, Siegfried Fisiihoi.


Sione Anga'aelangi, Vunipola Fifita, Ma'afu Fia, Dan Faleafa, Zane Kapeli, Leon Fukofuka, James Faiva, Atieli Pakalani.

Tuesday, August 27, 2019

All Blacks Named For 2019 Rugby World Cup

The 31-man All Black Team has been named for the 2019 Rugby World Cup.
New Zealand Rugby chairman Brent Impey announced the players going to Japan next month at Auckland's Eden Park on Wednesday 28th August.

The team is:

Forwards: Dane Coles, Codie Taylor, Liam Coltman, Atu Moli, Nepo Laulala, Joe Moody, Angus Ta'avao, Ofa Tuungafasi, Brodie Retallick, Scott Barrett, Sam Whitelock, Patrick Tuipulotu, Kieran Read (c), Sam Cane, Ardie Savea, Matt Todd, Luke Jacobson.

Backs: TJ Perenara, Aaron Smith, Brad Weber, Beauden Barrett, Richie Mo'unga, Jack Goodhue, Anton Lienert-Brown, Ryan Crotty, Sonny Bill Williams, Jordie Barrett, George Bridge, Rieko Ioane, Sevu Reece, Ben Smith.

Included in the loose forwards was Waikato's Luke Jacobson and Matt Todd, while Atu Moli is included the front row ahead of 108 test All Black Owen Franks.
In the backs Ngani Laumape misses the cut in mid-field, with coach Steve Hansen electing to take Goodhue, Lienert-Brown, Crotty, and Sonny Bill Williams.