Showing posts with label south africa springboks. Show all posts
Showing posts with label south africa springboks. Show all posts

Monday, July 4, 2022

Australia And South Africa Get Wins

Australia have beaten England 30-28 in Perth, whist playing the last 46 minutes of the match with 14 men. Lock Darcy Swain was sent off after head-butting Jonny Hill for retaliating for having his hair pulled. Australia had gone to the break at 6-6 after loosing fullback Tom Banks with a broken arm and prop Alan Alaalatoa to a head injury. Australia was behind 14-9 after 60 minutes, but two tries in seven minutes to Jordan Petaia and Folau Fainga’a put them ahead, and when Pete Samu added a third in the 77th minute the game was over at 30-14. England then ran in late tries to Henry Arundell and Jack van Poortvliet in injury time. 

Australia: 30

Tries: Jordan Petaia, Folau Fainga'a, Pete Samu, Conversions: Noah Lolesio 3, Penalties: Lolesio 3

England: 28

Tries: Ellis Genge, Henry Arundell, Jack van Poortlviet, Conversions: Owen Farrell 2, Penalties: Farrell 3

South Africa have kicked a penalty goal in injury time to win 32-29 against Wales at Loftus Versfeld. It was a controversial ending to the match in which captain Dan Biggar was penalised for an intentional knock-on, and Wales had four players yellow carded. At one stage late in the match Wales were down to 12 players and had a 75th minute penalty try awarded against them, only for replacement hooker Dewi Lake to hit back with a try for Wales to tie the match. 

South Africa: 32

Tries: Bongi Mbonambi, Malcolm Marx, Cheslin Kolbe, Penalty Try,  Conversions: Willemse 2 Penalties: Jantjies, Willemse

Wales: 29

Tries: Rees-Zammit 2, Dewi Lake, Conversion: Dan Biggar, Penalties: Biggar 3, Drop-Goal: Biggar

Tuesday, September 21, 2021

Springbok's Side Named To Face All Blacks

South Africa rugby coach Jacques Nienaber has named his side to face the All Blacks at QLD Country Back Stadium in Townsville on Saturday night.

Nienaber has made five changes to his squad that lost 30-17 against Australia last weekend, with lock Lood de Jager returning from concussion, Trevor Nyakane starting at loosehead prop and Kwagga Smith starting at blindside flanker in place of Franco Mostert who drops to the bench. Also coming onto the reserves bench are Elton Jantjies and Frans Steyn to provide cover in the backs.

South Africa Springboks Team:

1 Trevor Nyakane, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 3 Frans Malherbe, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 5 Lood de Jager, 6 Siya Kolisi (capt), 7 Kwagga Smith, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 9 Faf de Klerk, 10 Handre Pollard, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 12 Damian de Allende, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 14 Sbu Nkosi, 15 Willie le Roux.


16 Malcolm Marx, 17 Steven Kitshoff, 18 Vincent Koch, 19 Franco Mostert, 20 Marco van Staden, 21 Herschel Jantjies, 22 Elton Jantjies, 23 Frans Steyn.